Meeting Minutes 01-09-2010

Nixa Amateur Radio Club
Meeting Minutes

January 9, 2010

  1. Call to order
Chris Cochran, KBØWZC called to order the regular meeting of the Nixa Amateur Radio Club at 18:27 on January 9, 2010 at the Nixa Fire Station.

  1. Roll call
Jeff Kerr, KCØVGC conducted a roll call. The following members were present:

Jeff Kerr KC0vGC
Chris Cochran KB0WZC
Ken Porter AC0ML
Gary Doucey N0IRN
Jim Adkins KC0IYI
John Copelin KC0QNM
Shawn Baker KA0RZE
Randy Jordan KC0UKB
Pat Barber KB0UTY
Richard Vogt KB9YZE
David Beckler N0SAP
Bill Hotsenpiller KC0MAE
Mark Schiefelbein K0ABC
Brian Umbenhower K0OLD
Jeff Morrissey KB0WVT
James Adkins KB0NHX

16 Members present

Visitors present:

Richard Marlow

1 Visitor present

  1. Approval of minutes from last meeting
Jeff Kerr, KCØVGC filed the minutes from the last meeting. The minutes were approved as posted on the club website.

  1. News and Announcement
    1. The 220 and 440 repeater are up and have been working as expected for over a week. IRLP is back in order as of today and is currently connected to node 3309 in Kansas City.
    2. The Nixa Chamber of Commerce will issue the check for the Foundation Grant to the club at the Febuary 18th meeting of the CoC. All wishing to attend are welcome. RSVP is required and the dinner is $15 per person.
    3. The 6m amplifier for the six meter repeater is still a work-in-progress. The control board for the repeater is being re-engineered to repupose the amp from continuous broadcast transmission to intermittent amateur transmission. This is not to lower the duty cycle, but is to change the way the control board monitors the status of the amplifier. We are awating final word on permission to a 220V circuit to power the amplifier at the six meter site.

  2. Treasurer's Report
    1. The Treasurer's Report was given and will be printed in the next club newsletter.

The remainder of the meeting was given to Ken Porter, ACØML for his presentation on alternative power.


Chris Cochran, KBØWZC adjourned the meeting at 19:25.

Minutes submitted by: Jeff Kerr, KCØVGC, Secretary
Minutes approved by: Chris Cochran, KBØWZC, President